- Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy - http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com -

Sweet and Spicy Pecans and A World of Possibilities

Posted By Susan On December 31, 2010 @ 10:52 am In Appetizers, Dips and Small Bites,Baking,Holiday Dishes,Holidays,Quick and Easy,Recipes,SGCC Rewinds | 12 Comments

Well, here we are again.  Another year gone by and I honestly didn’t see it coming.  Seriously.  Where did the time go?  They say that time flies when you’re having fun.  If that’s true, then 2010 must have been one helluva nonstop party.  Too bad I can’t remember it!

I don’t usually make a lot of New Year’s resolutions.  Been there, done that.  I find that I usually break most of them by the end of January, and then spend the rest of the year beating myself up over it.  Who needs that kind of pressure?  I mean, I know that I’m never going to hoof it to the gym at 6:00 a.m. three times a week.  Almost everyone who knows me, knows it too.  So why set myself up for failure?    Instead, I try to set a few goals that I want to achieve, and work toward them in small, realistic increments.  I probably won’t be making many any pre-dawn visits to the gym. But, I might take Bella for an extra walk around the block from time to time.

The past twelve months have been a mixture of bitter and sweet for me.  I’ve had some wonderful new opportunities come my way, like my gigs writing for Edible Sarasota Magazine [1] and the Tampa Tribune [2].  I’ve also had some not so wonderful things happen in my life, but I won’t bore you with the details.  A new year is on the horizon and that means a fresh start and a world of possibilities.  I have a feeling that 2011 is going to be my year.  I can taste it!  And, I hope you’ll all come along for the ride.

The slideshow below features my favorite SGCC recipes of 2010.  I’ve chosen one from each month.  Some may be familiar to you and some may be new.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I’ve enjoyed sharing them with you.

 

January:  Ginger Scallion Noodles from Momofuku [5]

February: Candied Bacon-Chocolate Chunk Cookies [6]

March:  Honey-Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta [7]

April:  Lemon Linguine with Basil Pesto Shrimp [8]

May:  Piece Montée [9]

June:  Chiles Rellenos [10]

July: Bing Cherry Sorbetto [11]

August: Sweet & Spicy Wickled Okra [12]

September:  Homemade Refried Beans [13]

October:  Vietnamese Spicy Chicken Noodle Soup [14]

November:  Turkey Cutlets alla Milanese [15]

December:  Russian Tea [16]

Before I wrap up 2010, I’d like to leave you with a recipe for a great little snack to enjoy while you sip your champagne tonight.  My Sweet and Spicy Pecans are absolutely addictive and a breeze to make.  I included containers of them in my Christmas gift bags this year and they were a huge hit.  The beauty of this recipe is that you can adapt it in many different ways.  I used brown sugar, cinnamon, cayenne and smoked paprika in my version, but you can use less sugar to make the nuts more savory, or switch up the spices however you like.   Not only are these pecans an incredibly delicious nibble, they can also be added to salads, veggies and lots of different baked goods.  Banana bread or apple muffins with spiced pecans, anyone?  Mmmm!

Thank you so much, dear readers, for your continued support of SGCC and of me.  I truly value each and every one of you.   I wish you all a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.  May 2011 bring you all you ever dreamed of.

See you next year!


Article printed from Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com

URL to article: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/12/31/sweet-and-spicy-pecans-and-a-world-of-possibilities/

URLs in this post:

[1] Edible Sarasota Magazine: http://www.ediblecommunities.com/sarasota/

[2] Tampa Tribune: http://www.tampatrib.com/

[3] “SGCC’s Best of 2010“: http://www.picnik.com/show/id/11517196683_7f2Bq/t/sgccs-best-of-2010

[4] Create a free slideshow with Picnik!: http://www.picnik.com

[5] Ginger Scallion Noodles from Momofuku: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/01/29/ginger-scallion-noodles-from-momofuku/

[6] Candied Bacon-Chocolate Chunk Cookies: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/02/17/candied-bacon-chocolate-chunk-cookies/

[7] Honey-Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/03/16/dominator-honey-vanilla-bean-panna-cotta-and-why-i-love-facebook/

[8] Lemon Linguine with Basil Pesto Shrimp: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/04/27/lemon-linguini-with-basil-pesto-shrimp-and-our-new-baby/

[9] Piece Montée: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/05/27/daring-bakers-make-piece-montee/

[10] Chiles Rellenos: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/06/20/chiles-rellenos-for-fathers-day-and-the-biggest-mess-i-ever-made/

[11] Bing Cherry Sorbetto: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/07/18/bing-cherry-sorbetto/

[12] Sweet & Spicy Wickled Okra: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/08/06/sweet-and-spicy-wickled-okra/

[13] Homemade Refried Beans: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/09/30/los-frijoles-refritos-de-sgcc-refried-beans/

[14] Vietnamese Spicy Chicken Noodle Soup: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/10/15/ffwd-vietnamese-spicy-chicken-noodle-soup/

[15] Turkey Cutlets alla Milanese: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/11/21/la-tavola-della-mia-famiglia-turkey-cutlets-alla-milanese/

[16] Russian Tea: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/12/14/russian-tea-recipe-and-remembering-charlotte/

[17] [Translate]: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.comjavascript:show_translate_popup(

Copyright © 2009 StickyGooeyCreamyChewy.com.