- Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy - http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com -

What are YOU Serving for Thanksgiving?

Posted By Susan On November 18, 2010 @ 12:09 pm In Baking,Cooking,Holiday Dishes,Holidays,Recipes,SGCC Rewinds | 28 Comments

[1]

Can you believe it?  Thanksgiving is barely one short, little week away.  How did this happen?  I know that time marches on, but lately it feels like it’s been stampeding by!  I’ve been trying to plan my Thanksgiving menu, and it hasn’t been easy.  My problem isn’t deciding what to make for dinner, but rather what not to make.  Between my tried and true holiday dishes and all of the fabulous new recipes I’ve been finding on the web lately, I’m having a hard time narrowing the choices down to a manageable number. I want to try them all!  Still, there is only so much food that my family can eat – even at Thanksgiving – so I’m editing and re-editing.

Although, I’ll probably change my mind about a zillion times before then, here are some dishes from the SGCC archives that I’m thinking about so far:

Gougères [2]

Italian Wedding Soup [3]

Roasted butternut Squash Soup [4]

Bacon Pecan Brussels Sprouts Sauté [5]

Cauliflower Gratin [6]

Holy Grail of Sweet Potatoes [7]

Cornbread, Sausage and Apple Stuffing [8]

Favorite Oyster Stuffing [8]

Caramel Apple Raisin Pie [9]

Caramel Pumpkin Pie [10]

Pumpkin Flan [11]

Deb’s Mom’s Apple Cake [12]

Cranberry Lime Galette [13]

Everybody knows that Thanksgiving is all about the sides.  Yeah, the big bird gets all the glory, but the sides are the real stars of the show.  That’s where we foodies can really get our creative juices flowing (pun intended).   I’m loving these Honey Glazed Roasted Root Vegetables [14] and this Spiced Cranberry Chutney [15].  And, I’ve been dreaming about the Butternut Squash Crumbles [16] that I saw on Todd and Diane’s site [17] a few weeks ago.  They look so amazing!  Of course, it goes without saying that I’m going to have to give Ree’s Delicious, Creamy Mashed Potatoes [18] a try too.  Scads of butter and cream cheese?  Yeah, I’m definitely making those potatoes!  I may need to have those cardiac defibrillator paddles standing by, but it’s a chance I’ll have to take.

This gorgeous Apricot and Walnut Stuffing [19] recipe from lol foodie [20] caught my attention.  With lots of dried fruits, nuts and orange zest, it sounds heavenly!  Guilty Kitchen’s Sweet Potato, Kale and Sausage [21] looks pretty terrific too – and would be a great way to sneak some healthy greens into your Thanksgiving meal.

How about some green bean casserole?  Here are two great, made from scratch recipes from Alton Brown [22] and Pioneer Woman [23] that look to die for.

Of course, there will be turkey too – and ham.  I’ve ordered two big, fat, organic free range turkeys from Suncoast Organics [24].  I know, I know, two turkeys?  Well, for one thing, you can never have too much turkey at Thanksgiving.  Besides gorging on the bird at the main meal, you’ve got to have enough left over for sandwiches when everyone gets hungry again about an about after the dishes are washed.  And, you have to save some for all of those great “after Thanksgiving” turkey recipes that you know will be popping up all over the blogs the next day.  Plus, let’s not forget about the fabulous stock you can make with those turkey carcasses!  So yes, two turkeys is a must here in SGCC-land.

For all of my stick in the mud more traditional guests,  one of my turkeys will be prepared the regular old boring classic way.  But, I’ve been really intrigued with some of the more unusual turkey recipes I’ve seen, like Maple-Brined Wood-Smoked Grilled Turkey [25], Plum-Glazed Roast Turkey with Spinach, Bacon and Cashew Stuffing and Plum Gravy [26], Bacon-Wrapped Turkey with Pear Cider Gravy [27] or Deep Fried Whole Buffalo Turkey [28].  They all sound so wonderful!

For those of you who are planning a gluten-free holiday feast, there are lots of delicious choices out there.  Lori from Recipe Girl [29] has put together a lovely, all gluten-free Thanksgiving menu [30].  Even though we’re not a GF family, I’m really tempted by some of those fabulous dishes.  Shauna, our beloved Gluten Free Girl [31] (and the chef), has also compiled a yummy list of gluten-free delights [32] to grace your Thanksgiving table, including her famous GF pie crust.

And, let’s not forget about the most important part of the meal – the desserts.    Martha’s Caramel Nut Tart [33] looks divine!  So does her Triple-Chocolate Pumpkin Pie [34].  Oh, the decadence!  (Glad I thought to have those paddles on hand!) Aran’s [35] Sweet Potato and Crab Apple Clafoutis [36] look absolutely delightful in their dainty little china cups.  So creative – and gluten-free too.  If you’re crazy for cheesecake, this Pecan and Salted Caramel Cheesecake [37] from CHOW [38] looks outrageously good.

You can never go wrong with one of David Lebovitz’s [39] ice cream recipes, and his Pumpkin Ice Cream [40] looks like another winner.   For a lighter frozen alternative, this Green Apple and Basil Granita [41] from Kitchen Daily [42] looks wonderful, especially for us folks down here in hot, muggy Florida.  I’ll bet it would perfect served in between courses as a palate cleanser too.

Wow!  I’ve had such fun checking out all of these fabulous Thanksgiving recipes!  I hope you enjoy them too.

So, what are you all serving for Turkey Day?  Wow me.  Thrill me.  Inspire me.  Make me drool!!!


* Top photo courtesy of istockphoto.com [43]


Article printed from Sticky, Gooey, Creamy, Chewy: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com

URL to article: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/11/18/what-are-you-serving-for-thanksgiving/

URLs in this post:

[1] : http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/thanksgiving-table-2.jpg

[2] Gougères: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/10/01/ffwd-gougeres/

[3] Italian Wedding Soup: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2009/07/18/minestra-maritata-italian-wedding-soup/

[4] Roasted butternut Squash Soup: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2009/11/20/roasted-butternut-squash-soup/

[5] Bacon Pecan Brussels Sprouts Sauté: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2008/09/22/autumn-falls-in-bacon-pecan-brussels-sprouts-saute/

[6] Cauliflower Gratin: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2009/12/12/cauliflower-gratin/

[7] Holy Grail of Sweet Potatoes: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2007/11/21/the-holy-grail-of-sweet-potatoes/

[8] Cornbread, Sausage and Apple Stuffing: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2007/11/19/the-great-stuffing-war/

[9] Caramel Apple Raisin Pie: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2007/10/22/shf-caramel-apple-raisin-pie-with-rum-raisin-ice-cream/

[10] Caramel Pumpkin Pie: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/10/19/twd-caramel-pumpkin-pie/

[11] Pumpkin Flan: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/11/02/pumpkin-flan-aka-caramel-covered-crack/

[12] Deb’s Mom’s Apple Cake: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2009/10/29/debs-moms-apple-cake/

[13] Cranberry Lime Galette: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.com/2010/11/16/twd-cranberry-lime-galette/

[14] Honey Glazed Roasted Root Vegetables: http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/honey-glazed-roasted-root-vegetables

[15] Spiced Cranberry Chutney: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/11/the-crisper-whisperer-williams-sonomas-spiced-cranberry-chutney-recipe.html?ref=related

[16] Butternut Squash Crumbles: http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/roasted-butternut-squash/

[17] Todd and Diane’s site: http://whiteonricecouple.com/

[18] Delicious, Creamy Mashed Potatoes: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/11/delicious_creamy_mashed_potatoes/

[19] Apricot and Walnut Stuffing: http://www.lolfoodie.com/archives/2010/11/apricot-and-walnut-stuffing/

[20] lol foodie: http://www.lolfoodie.com/

[21] Sweet Potato, Kale and Sausage: http://guiltykitchen.com/2010/10/11/sweet-potato-kale-and-sausage/

[22] Alton Brown: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/best-ever-green-bean-casserole-recipe/index.html

[23] Pioneer Woman: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2010/11/green-bean-casserole/

[24] Suncoast Organics: http://www.suncoastorganics.net/home.html

[25] Maple-Brined Wood-Smoked Grilled Turkey: http://Maple-Brined, Wood-Smoked Grilled Turkey

[26] Plum-Glazed Roast Turkey with Spinach, Bacon and Cashew Stuffing and Plum Gravy: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Plum-Glazed-Roast-Turkey-with-Spinach-Bacon-and-Cashew-Stuffing-and-Plum-Gravy-107358

[27] Bacon-Wrapped Turkey with Pear Cider Gravy: http://www.chow.com/recipes/11130-bacon-wrapped-turkey-with-pear-cider-gravy

[28] Deep Fried Whole Buffalo Turkey: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2010/11/deep-fried-whole-buffalo-turkey-recipe.html

[29] Recipe Girl: http://www.recipegirl.com/

[30] gluten-free Thanksgiving menu: http://www.recipegirl.com/2010/11/15/gluten-free-thanksgiving-menu/

[31] Gluten Free Girl: http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/

[32] yummy list of gluten-free delights: http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2010/11/gluten-free-thanksgiving-2010.html

[33] Caramel Nut Tart: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/caramel-nut-tart?backto=true&backtourl=/photogallery/thanksgiving-pies#slide_8

[34] Triple-Chocolate Pumpkin Pie: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/triple-chocolate-pumpkin-pie?backto=true&backtourl=/photogallery/thanksgiving-pies#slide_24

[35] Aran’s: http://cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/

[36] Sweet Potato and Crab Apple Clafoutis: http://cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/2010/11/sweet-potato-and-crabapple-clafoutis.html

[37] Pecan and Salted Caramel Cheesecake: http://www.chow.com/recipes/10673-pecan-and-salt-caramel-cheesecake

[38] CHOW: http://www.chow.com/

[39] David Lebovitz’s: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/

[40] Pumpkin Ice Cream: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2009/11/pumpkin-ice-cream-recipe/

[41] Green Apple and Basil Granita: http://www.kitchendaily.com/recipe/green-apple-and-basil-granita-149835

[42] Kitchen Daily: http://www.kitchendaily.com/

[43] istockphoto.com : http://www.istockphoto.com/

[44] [Translate]: http://stickygooeycreamychewy.comjavascript:show_translate_popup(

Copyright © 2009 StickyGooeyCreamyChewy.com.